Tree and Plant Appraisal Qualification

Workshops Coming Soon

With the release of the 10th edition of the Guide for Plant Appraisal, it became clear to ASCA that the industry was lacking a comprehensive course that teaches professionals about the theory and application of appraisal approaches, methods, and techniques. To meet that need, ASCA created the Tree and Plant Appraisal Qualification (TPAQ) program.


What Is the TPAQ Certificate Program?

The TPAQ certificate program is an interactive training experience that delves into the concepts contained in the 10th edition of the Guide for Plant Appraisal. Using instructor-led discussions and case scenarios to illustrate concepts, you will become proficient in conducting appraisals using the various approaches contained in the 10th edition.

The training culminates with an open-book exam that tests attendees on their comprehension of the material and concepts. Successful candidates will receive a certificate and be entitled to list TPAQ as a credential.

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this course, you will:

  • Understand the economic principles that underlay plant appraisal.
  • Understand the types of field data needed to inform plant appraisal methods and techniques.
  • Be familiar with the cost compounding methods within the income approach and understand its relationship to the i-Tree suite of urban forestry management and assessment tools.
  • Be familiar with the research about the contribution of trees and landscape to real estate market value, and its application to plant appraisal.
  • Be familiar with the methods and techniques within the cost approach, particularly the direct, reproduction, and cost forwarding methods.
  • Be able to make reasoned judgments about the value of trees and landscape plants.


What are the Benefits of Becoming Tree and Plant Appraisal Qualified?

  • Increased credibility. Having the TPAQ credential boosts your credibility. It demonstrates that you understand and can apply the approaches, methods, and techniques of appraisal into your work product.
  • Standing out. Including information about your TPAQ credential on your website, on business cards, and in promotional materials will help you stand out from your competition.



Attendees must have a minimum of three years of experience in arboriculture, horticulture, forestry, landscape contracting, or landscape architecture/design.


Required Text

The 10th edition of the Guide for Plant Appraisal is the required text for the TPAQ course.



TPAQ courses are offered through ASCA, Council of Tree and Landscape Appraisers (CTLA) organizations, and ISA chapters. Pricing may vary by course and host.


Maintaining Your Credential

The TPAQ credential is valid for five years from the date it is earned. To maintain the credential, TPAQ holders must retake the TPAQ course and pass the exam every five years, or when the Guide for Plant Appraisal is updated--whichever comes first.